TrackTown Live

TrackTown LIVE webcasts to showcase NCAA Outdoor T&F Championships

EUGENE, Ore. – The third edition of “TrackTown LIVE” returns today with the first of two live 90-minute webcasts showcasing the 2016 NCAA Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Championships at historic Hayward Field.

Each of the two shows will feature a star-studded lineup of special guests as the NCAA Championships come to TrackTown USA for the 14th time, the most of any venue in the history of the meet.

The shows, which are a joint production of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA), TrackTown Productions and TrackTown USA will originate from “Champions Plaza” on the turf field behind the West Grandstand at Hayward Field on Monday, June 6 from 3:30-5 p.m. and Tuesday, June 7 from 5:15-6:45 p.m.

You can access the live webcasts at They will also be simulcast on, Flotrack and Runnerspace.

The featured guests will be a stellar group of 15 student-athletes, including multiple national champions and collegiate record-holders. Most will be joined on the set with their respective event or head coaches. Jordan Kent, a former three-sport star at Oregon, and Paul Swangard, the longtime “Voice of Hayward Field,” will serve as co-hosts of the webcasts for the third consecutive year. The shows will also include video highlights and recaps from the 2016 collegiate track and field season.

Here’s the guest lineup and timeline for both webcasts:

Monday, June 6

3:30-4:00 p.m.

  • TrackTown USA President and U.S. Olympic men’s head track and field coach Vin Lananna and USTFCCCA CEO Sam Seemes.
  • Texas A&M decathlete Lindon Victor and head coach Pat Henry.
  • Akron’s Phillip Jaeger and Kent State’s Reginald Jaeger, brothers who are ranked #2 and #12, respectively, in the discus.

4:00-4:30 p.m.

  • TCU sprinter Ronnie Baker and head coach Darryl Anderson.
  • Arizona three-sport standout Gerhard de Beer and throws coach J. Crater.
  • Clemson sprinter Tevin Hester and head coach Mark Elliott.

4:30-5:00 p.m.

  • Michigan steeplechaser Mason Ferlic and distance coach Kevin Sullivan.
  • Virginia middle distance runners Henry Wynne and head coach Bryan Fetzer.
  • The Register-Guard reporter Chris Hansen and University of Oregon journalism instructor Lori Shontz.


Tuesday, June 7

5:15-5:44 p.m.

  • Flotrack’s Gordon Mack and Runnerspace’s Adam Schneider.
  • Georgia triple jumper Keturah Orji and head coach Petros Kyprianou.
  • Kansas State heptathlete Akela Jones and head coach Cliff Rovelto.
  • Arkansas distance runner Dominique Scott-Efurd and head coach Lance Harter.

5:44-6:15 p.m.

  • Tennessee sprinter Felicia Brown and head coach Beth Alford-Sullivan.
  • Southern Illinois hammer thrower DeAnna Price and head coach Kathleen Raske.
  • Texas quarter-miler Courtney Okolo and head coach Tonja Buford-Bailey.
  • Harvard steeplechaser/Eugene native Paige Kouba and distance coach Patrick Wales-Dinan.

6:15-6:45 p.m.

  • S. Olympic men’s and women’s head track and field coaches Vin Lananna and Connie Price-Smith.
  • Former NCAA champions Jesse Williams (USC, high jump) and Geena Gall (Michigan, 800m).

Former NCAA champions Elijah Greer (Oregon, 800m) and Rachel Yurkovich (Oregon, javelin).

Day 1

Day 2


Swangard has been the lead public address announcer at historic Hayward Field for more than two decades, providing in-stadium commentary for University of Oregon home meets as well as previous NCAA  Championships, the Prefontaine Classic, USATF national championships and the last three U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials. In 2016, he will complete a “triple crown” by announcing the IAAF World Indoors in Portland, Oregon, the IAAF U20 Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland, and the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In addition to his in-stadium announcing duties, Swangard also provides commentary for track and field broadcasts on NBC Sports Network and Away from the track, Swangard is the Chief Strategist for RunnerSpace, a Eugene-based digital media company. He also teaches sport business-related courses at the University of Oregon.

Kent was a standout three-sport letterman at the University of Oregon, competing in football, basketball and track & field. A 2007 NFL draftee by the Seattle Seahawks, Kent was also a four-time USTFCCCA All-American on the track as a member of the school-record and NCAA-scoring 4×100 and 4×400 relays for the Ducks. His broadcasting career includes three years as studio host at Comcast Sportsnet NW for a variety of shows, and he has served as an in-studio analyst for NCAA and NBA basketball, NCAA football and USA track and field.


The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) is a non-profit professional organization representing cross country and track & field coaches of all levels. The organization represents over 9,000 coaching members encompassing 94% of all NCAA track & field programs (DI, DII, and DIII) and includes members representing the NAIA as well as a number of state high school coaches associations. The USTFCCCA serves as an advocate for cross country and track & field coaches, providing a leadership structure to assist the needs of a diverse membership, serving as a lobbyist for coaches’ interests, and working as a liaison between the various stakeholders in the sports of cross country and track & field.


TrackTown USA, Inc. is a non-profit organization committed to setting a standard of excellence in the sports of track and field and running by hosting premier events, creating a supportive environment for elite athletic performances, improving facilities and inspiring the next generation of track and field athletes and fans. The company is responsible for organizing the 2014 IAAF World Junior Championships, the 2015 USA Track & Field Outdoor Championships, the 2016 IAAF World Indoor Championships,the 2016 U.S. Olympic Team Trials-Track & Field, and the 2021 IAAF World Championships.