TrackTown Radio

For the fourth consecutive year, we will distribute free portable radios to interested spectators at the NCAA Men’s and Women’s Outdoor Track & Field Championships at Historic Hayward Field. Each radio will have four channels providing expert commentary on that day’s field events. On Friday and Saturday, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) will provide team scoring updates. The radios will be handed out at Guest Services in the Fan Interactive Zone in the SE corner of Hayward Field.



Men’s pole vault, 5 p.m. (Piotrek Buciarski)
Men’s javelin, 5:45 p.m. (Rachel Buciarski)
Men’s long jump, 6 p.m. (John Gillespie)
Men’s shot put, 6:10 p.m. (Tom Heinonen)


Women’s pole vault, 5 p.m. (Piotrek Buciarski)
Women’s javelin, 5:15 p.m. (Rachel Buciarski)
Women’s long jump, 5:30 p.m. (John Gillespie)
Women’s shot put, 6:40 p.m. (Tom Heinonen)


Men’s high jump, 5 p.m. (Mitch Modin)
Men’s discus, 5:05 p.m. (Tom Jordan)
Men’s triple jump, 5:40 p.m. (Brian Schaudt)
Team scoring, 5 p.m. (USTFCCCA)


Women’s high jump, 3 p.m. (Lauren Crockett)
Women’s discus, 3:05 p.m. (Tom Jordan)
Women’s triple jump, 3:40 p.m. (Brian Schaudt)
Team scoring, 3 p.m. (USTFCCCA)

Commentator Biographies

Rachel Buciarski – Javelin

  • 2012 London Olympics in javelin
  • 2009 IAAF World Championship finalist in Berlin
  • 3-time USA runner-up (2009, 2010, 2011)
  • 2-time NCAA champion & 4-time Pac-10 champion at Oregon

Tom Heinonen – Shot Put

  • UO women’s head track and field coach (1975-2002)
  • 8-time Pac-10 coach of the year; 3-time NCAA coach of the year
  • Guided UO teams to 3 NCAA titles & 9 conference titles
  • Elected to USTFCCCA Coaches Hall of Fame in 2006

John Gillespie – Long Jump

  • Assistant UO T&F coach (1982-1998)
  • Specialized in horizontal jumps
  • Coached current UO record-holders Latin Berry (LJ) & Spencer Williams (TJ)
  • Legendary prep coach at South Eugene HS; led Axemen to 9 state titles
  • Elected to Western Oregon University Coaches Hall of Fame in 2006

Mitch Modin – High Jump

  • 2017 Pac-12 decathlon champion at Oregon
  • 4-time All-American in decathlon
  • Ranks #8 at UO in decathlon
  • Ranks #4 all-time at UO in indoor heptathlon

Tom Jordan – Discus

  • Meet director for annual Prefontaine Classic since 1984
  • Author of “Pre,” the story of America’s greatest running legend

Piotrek Buciarski – Pole Vault

  • 2004 Olympian in pole vault for Denmark
  • 5-time qualifier for IAAF World Championships (indoors & outdoors)
  • 3-time All-American in pole vault at Oregon
  • 2-time Pac-10 champion in pole vault

Brian Schaudt – Triple Jump

  • Four-time Pac-12 finalist in triple jump
  • Ranks #5 all-time at UO in indoor triple jump; #9 all-time in outdoor triple jump
  • Volunteer assistant coach at Oregon from 2013-15
  • Current horizontal jumps coach at Lane Community College