Laura Roesler & Deon Lendore Honored with 2014 Bowerman Trophies

PHOENIX – Texas A&M sprinter Deon Lendore and Oregon mid-distance runner Laura Roesler were awarded The Bowerman Trophy as the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes of the 2013-14 season in a ceremony held Wednesday evening at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort and Spa as part of the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Convention.

Roesler is the first female athlete from the Pac-12 to win the award, and Lendore is the first male athlete from the SEC to win. Lendore is from Trinidad & Tobago, making his win the fourth straight by an international man.

Roesler is the first athlete of either gender to win with the 800 meters as her primary event, while Lendore is the first man to win on the strength of his performances in the 400.

Read more and watch interviews with the winners and the Bowerman Trophy at