PAC-12 Day Two Recap

The Oregon men’s and women’s track and field teams completed an unprecedented ninth consecutive sweep of the Pac-12 Championships at Hayward Field last weekend.

EUGENE, Ore. – The Oregon men’s and women’s track and field teams put the finishing touches on a decade of dominance at the Pac-12 Championships before a crowd of 6,778 at Hayward Field on Sunday.

The UO men claimed its 11th consecutive conference title – and 18th overall – with a total of 175 points. The Duck women, meanwhile, rolled to their ninth straight crown with 189 points.

Both win streaks, including nine Pac-12 sweeps in a row, are unprecedented in league history.

The Duck men were unmatched in the sprints, notching a victory in the 4×100-meter relay, followed by a 1-2 finish in the 100 meters from Kyree King and Demarcus Simpson, and a 1-2 performance in the 200 meters from King and Marcus Chambers.

UO sprinter Kyree King won the 100m and 200m and ran a leg on the Ducks’ victorious 4x100m relay to earn Men’s Athlete of the Meet honors.

King, a transfer from Western Kentucky, became the first UO male athlete to sweep the sprints at a conference meet since 1959 when Roscoe Cook won at 100 yards and 220 yards. Kings scored 22.5 points and was named Pac-12 Men’s Athlete of the Meet.

The other individual champion for the UO men on Sunday came in the discus, where Ryan Hunter-Simms unleased his winning effort of 192 feet, 7 inches on his sixth and final throw. It was the first Pac-12 discus title for the Duck men since 1983 when Dean Crouser earned his second championship in that event.

The UO women were equally dominant.

They repeated last year’s 1-2-3 finish in the 100m, only this time it was 2016 Olympian Deajah Stevens leading the way at 11.05 seconds, followed by fellow Olympian Ariana Washington (11.10) and Hannah Cunliffe (11.11). Stevens came back to win the 200m with a personal best and school record time of 23.09. The UO women also won the 4x100m relay.

Oregon’s Raevyn Rogers cruised to her third straight Pac-12 800m title.

Raevyn Rogers captured her third straight Pac-12 title in the 800m with a wire-to-wire effort of 2:02.93, Alaysha Johnson pulled away late to win the 100m hurdles in 12.90 and Portland State transfer Chaquinn Cook was a surprise winner in the triple jump with a PR of 44-1 ½, just off the school record of 44-4 ¼ set by Lauryn Newson in 2012.

UO freshman Katie Rainsberger placed second and third, respectively, in the 1,500m and 5,000m, with Colorado’s Dani Jones winning both of those races.

Arizona State’s Maggie Ewen was named Women’s Athlete of the Meet after scoring a meet-high 30 points for the Sun Devils. She became the first female to win the shot put, hammer and discus at the Pac-12 Championships. Ewen’s winning mark of 230-4 in the hammer throw was a meet record.


Men: Oregon 175, USC 115.5, UCLA 101, Colorado 73, California 72, Washington State 68.5, Washington 61, Arizona State 51, Arizona 50, Stanford 49.

Women: Oregon 189, USC 135, Colorado 78, Washington 72, UCLA 63, Arizona State 58.5, Stanford 47, Arizona 46, California 45, Washington State 45, Oregon State 21.5, Utah 16.